The Chair holder

Anargyros (Argyris) Passas is Associate Professor of State Administration and European Integration, with the Department of International, European and Area Studies of the School of International Studies, Communication and Culture, Panteion University and holds a Jean Monnet Chair in Public Administration & European Integration (2014-2017).

He studied Political Sciences and International Relations at the Free University of Brussels (1975-1980) (Université Libre de Bruxelles) and he specialized in European Studies (Licence Spéciale en Politique Européenne) at the European Institute of the same university (1981-1984). His doctoral thesis (Department of Public Administration of the Panteion University (1988) was entitled "European Political Cooperation and the limits of intergovernmentalism: Contribution to the investigation of the integration dynamics and its effects on the functioning of the state after the adoption of the Single European Act" (supervisor D. Th. Tsatsos).

He is Director of the Centre for Institutional and Policy Analysis of the Panteion University, President of the Governing Board of the Hellenic University Association for European Studies (ECSA/Greece) and co-director of the book series "Public Policy and Institutional Analysis", Papazissis Publishers, Athens.

He teaches at Panteion University, the Hellenic Open University, the National Centre of Public Administration and Local Government and is a regular research and teaching associate with the Cyprus Academy of Public Administration. He has published books, articles and studies in journals and edited volumes in Greece and abroad, in the fields of European Integration, Public Policy and Public Administration. His latest book (2012) is titled, "National Public Administration in the European Union Policy Process", Athens, Papazisis (in Greek).

In his professional career he has worked in the European Parliament (1980-1984 and 1994-1996) and served as scientific advisor to the Ministers of Education and Religious Affairs and Foreign Affairs for the management of the third (1994) and fourth (2003) Greek Presidency of the Council of the European Union. He has been founding member of the Centre for European Constitutional Law - Themistocles and Dimitris Tsatsos Foundation, member of the Scientific Council of the European Institute of Public Administration (EIPA/IEAP Maastricht) and headed as Secretary General the National Centre of Public Administration (1996-2001). In 2010 to 2013 has also been project leader for the design and implementation of training activities of the Cyprus Public Administration for the preparation of the first Cyprus Presidency of the Council of the European Union (July-December 2012).


  • Theodoros Tsekos
  • Yiannis Gounaris
  • Evangelia Katakalou
  • Michail Kosmidis
  • Katerina Lymperopoulou
  • Eleni Martsoukou
  • Eirini Pavli
  • Evlampia Petraki
  • Spyros Stamoulis
  • Theodora Stathopoulou
  • Eftychia Theodosiou
  • Dimitris Tsagkalidis